A.E. Staley Manufacturing Company, Decatur, Illinois; R.R. Hahn, rep.

Sud-Chemie A.G., Munchen 2, West Germany.

Swift and Company, Research and Development Center, Oak Brook, Illinois; M.H. Bornfleth, rep.

Techno Engineering Limited, Kiriat Bialick, Israel; Haim J. Lehrmann, rep.

Division of Textron Incorporated, Research Center Library, Buffalo, New York.

Theobald Industries, Harrison, New Jersey; Harry Theobald, rep.

Tintometer U.S.A., Bloomingdale, New Jersey; Bruce P. McCloskey, rep.

Union Camp Corporation, Wayne, New Jersey; Louis G. Zachary, rep.

Valley Products Company, Memphis, Tennessee; James A. Breazeale, rep.

G.A. Wintzer and Son Company, Wapakoneta, Ohio; F.S. Wintzer, rep.

Wurster & Sanger, Division of Jacobs Engineering Company, Chicago, Illinois.

Committee Spotlights _

Membership Committee

This administrative committee is charged with the review and approval of all membership applications (active, associate, corporate, student, and emeritus) and with the maintenance and extension of membership. The committee was expanded recently to include an additional subcommittee for membership retention. The executive chairman, T.H. Smouse, is also responsible for emeritus, honorary, and retired member activities. The five subcommittees are as follows:

- 1. Educational Staff and Students: A. Crecelius (Ch.), J.G. Endres, S.L. Melton, and R.A. Reck
- 2. Corporate Membership: J.A. Fioriti (Ch.), and S. Smith
- 3. Individual Associates: A. Herrick (Ch.), R.H. Grinstein, and R.B. Muller
- 4. Active Members: T.A. Foglia (Ch.), V.C. Witte, H.P. Dupuy, and J. Hasman
- 5. Membership Retention: C.M. Jansen (Ch.)

Current projects include development of a new membership application form, review of procedures for following up and contacting recently resigned members, and evaluation of techniques for soliciting new members among honored students and faculty members working in the areas of lipid chemistry and biochemistry.

Continuing activities that have been successful in membership promotion and involvement are the President's Club and Reception, the New Member's Breakfast, the automatic payment of one year's dues for nonmembers attending national meetings, and the world conference programs.

The committee, chaired by the vice president of the Society each year, was recently reorganized and is looking to expanded growth of its membership and activities.

> David Firestone Vice President and Chairman, 1977-78

Call for nominations

Alton E. Bailey Award

The North Central Section of AOCS is requesting written nominations from Society members for the 1978-79 Alton E. Bailey Award. The purpose of the Bailey Award is to recognize research and/or service in the field of fats and oils. The nomination should contain at least five pertinent references or contributions in the field of oils, fats, waxes, etc. Some of the past Bailey Award winners are: V.C. Mehlenbacher (1959), R.H. Potts (1960), J.C. Cowan (1961), A.R. Baldwin (1963), T.P. Hilditch (1965), D. Swern (1966), W.O. Lundberg (1967), H.J. Dutton (1968), H.S. Olcott (1969), H.E. Carter (1970), J.F. Mead (1971), R.T. Holman (1972), C.M. Gooding (1973), S.S. Chang (1974), W.M. Cochran (1975), Raymond Reiser (1976), L.A. Goldblatt (1977), O.S. Privett (1978).

Please send nominations to the Alton E. Bailey Award Chairman, Bart Greenwell, Groen Division of Dover Corporation, 1900 Pratt Blvd., Elk Grove Village, IL 60007. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 1978, and notification of the selection will appear in this *Journal*. The presentation of the Bailey Award is scheduled for February 1979.

Deadline: December 15, 1978

Call for nominations

1979 Honored Student Awards

Nominations are now being solicited for the 1979 AOCS Honored Student Awards. Graduate students at any North American institution of higher learning, in any area of science dealing with fats and lipids, who are doing research toward an advanced degree, and who are interested in the areas of science and technology fostered by this Society, are eligible. To receive the award, he/she must remain a registered graduate student and must not have received his/her degree or begun career employment prior to the AOCS meeting he/she is to attend. Selection of awardees is based upon educational qualifications and performance.

The awards provide funds equal to travel costs, plus \$75.00, to permit attendance at the national meeting of the AOCS to be held in San Francisco on April 29 – May 3, 1979.

Nomination forms may be obtained from AOCS Headquarters, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820.